Skip to Main Content


Pay via PayPal

Current Weather

Upcoming Events (30)

View Club Calendar

find other events in your area at


Old Timers Fun Fly Wednesday 8/5, 9am-noon, All AMA members welcome!

This Saturday, August 8th, 8am-4pm, Council Bluffs Airport, WWII Fighters, Rides (See Club Events Tab)

WIN A GUNFIGHTER WWII P-51 RIDE--$50 RAFFLE TICKET (details under Club Events tab)

Provided by Larry Lumpkin Commemorative Air Force!

Check out:

Click Here to purchase a Raffle Ticket.

Or copy and paste:


About Us

Omahawks RC Club
Welcome to the Omahawks® RC Inc. web site, we hope you browse around the site.  If you’re new to the Hobby or a veteran looking for a place to land, please take your time to browse around the Omahawks® web site to see what the Club has to offer.  If you want to learn more about this hobby, the links might be of interest to you.

The Omahawks® is the largest club of radio control Hobbyist’s in and around the local Metropolitan area.  In a partnership with the City Parks and Recreation Department the Omahawks® manages one of the premier flying fields within the country.  Hawk Field is located in the beautiful Standing Bear Lake Recreation Area entrance on 138th and Fort Street in Omaha, Nebraska.

No matter what your interests in Radio Control Flying the Omahawks® offers a wide variety of events. The Omahawks® Event calendar lists the many activities and events club and its membership sponsor. Besides the events to participate in the Omahawks® offers an excellent training program to help you learn to fly.  The training program is free to both club members and guests starting early April running to the ending of September.  Training starts at 06:00 PM ending around dusk. So come out to watch or get involved.  It’s an excellent way to be introduced to a rewarding hobby and gives you the opportunity to meet people with similar interests.  The club is also family oriented and encourages family participation, what a great way to enjoy some good family time. Use the "Contact Us" tab to express an interest in attending training night.

We look forward to seeing at the Field, until then have a safe and enjoyable flying experience.

Make-A-Wish Foundation

We support Make-A-Wish (the flag ship of support), the Boy Scouts, weekly training night and youth training.  We have been recognized by the Make a Wish foundation as a catalyst for other organizations to also support them.  Omahawks members can proudly say we have supported the Make- A-Wish organization for over 38 years and have contributed a total of $90,000!  Every year, we have held a yearly Labor Day Model Air Show so that 100% of the proceeds can be funneled back to the Make-A-Wish foundation. Many members have dedicated long hours in planning and execution of this event over the years and can take pride in helping young children enjoy a special wish come true!

Gold Leader Clubs Are:

  1. Clubs must have been chartered by AMA for a minimum of five years.
  2. Club membership must be open to all AMA members and not limited to a certain number.
  3. Clubs must develop and post Safety and Operational Rules at their flying sites.
  4. Clubs must file a copy of Safety and Operational Rules at AMA Headquarters.
  5. A club’s flying field must have separate areas for fliers and spectators, clearly marked as such.
  6. The AMA Safety Code must be posted and visible at the club field.



Each year the Omahawks elect Officers and Board Members to play an integral part of making this club what it is today. The following list represents the presidents of each year since the Omahawks was established.







Rick Sessions

Rick Sessions

Rick Sessions

Casey Vohnout

2016   Mikey Furrow
2015   Mikey Furrow
2014   Steve Earl / Mikey Furrow
2013   Bob Wheeler
2012   Bob Wheeler
2011   Steve Culver
2010   E.J. Murphy
2009   E.J. Murphy
2008   E.J. Murphy
2007   Steve Culver
2006   Steve Culver
2005   Brad Shaink
2004   Claude Weimer
2003   Ron Williams
2002   Ron Williams
2001   Ward Neesen
2000   Ward Neesen
1999   Larry Brown
1998   John Feneck
1997   Roger Bordd
1996   Dan Walz
1995   Skip Brown
1994   Steve Peck
1993   Tom Egbert
1992   Rusty Dose
1991   John Johnson
1990   Steve Eveans
1989   Fred Wilke
1988   Fred Wilke
1987   Ronald VanOeveren
1986   Ronald VanOeveren
1985   Allen Wilkinson
1984   Skip Brown
1983   Olie Olson
1982   Harold Abrahamson
1981   Gary Ross
1980   Steve Peck
1979   Steve Peck
1978   Bob Hickson
1977   Jim Albin
1976   Dick Greenberg
1975   Dick Ross
1974   Larry Botkin
1973   Larry Quigley
1972   Ralph Brown
1971   Olie Olson
1970   Bob Hess
1969   Chuck Leitch
1968   Chuck Leitch
1967   Ray Dehardt
1966   Chuck Leitch
1965   Tom Mossman
1964   Bill Wendt
1963   Howard Kofoed
1962   Lynn Montgomery
1961   Ray Valgora
1960   Don Woods
1959   Ken Oliver
1958   Lynn Montgomery
1957   Tom Mossman
1956   Don Huldt
1955   Leon Kresl
1954   Paul Ennis
1953   Paul Ennis
This website is powered by DualRates